Beth Kirby

Instagram can sometimes come up with some wonderful suggestions for photographers to follow and that’s how I discovered Beth Kirby’s portfolio. Also realised her blog is just as beautiful. Taking the information from her about page which states:

I’m a freelance photographer, stylist, writer, and recipe developer living in the Appalachian foothills of Tennessee. All of my work is inspired by the beauty of imperfection, the South, mysticism, slow living, and metaphor.

My photography.
Shooting both film and digital in natural light, my work aims to capture small moments through prosaic, light driven photos. I’m largely inspired by the notion of finding the familiar in the foreign, by nesting wherever you go as well as conversely finding the exotic in the everyday, of traveling even when you’re at home. From cookery to cabinetry, coast lines to mountain ranges, I try to capture both a sense of intimacy, beauty, and adventure in all things, most especially the mundane. When I’m not behind the stove, lens, or keyboard I can usually be found combing farmers markets & flea markets alike in search of inspiration or cooking for friends in my kitchen or theirs

Leave a Reply

