Christine Carr

Monolith – Christine Carr

With this series I am transforming contemporary buildings into fantastical power structures. I omit the horizon line and many details to obscure scale, and use available light from a particular time of day to heighten mystery. I am drawn to facades that are non-descript, are light in tone and have very few or no windows. The removal of context helps me to imagine what the buildings may be instead of being mired in what they are. I am both fascinated and unsettled by the transformed structures. Who built them? What is their purpose? What happens behind the blank walls? I am drawn to the sense of power that these emit and though them I feel a connection to ancient monuments that were important to ritual and memorialization. However, I am also intrigued that most of the ideal locations host stores, cars and entertainment, which some may argue are our modern day devotions …

 

 

Leave a Reply

